South Carolina
New River Gorge

South Carolina’s Scenic Byways

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) partnered with the South Carolina Scenic Highways Committee in 1994. The creation of the committee stemmed from Act 484, 1994, which was later amended by Act 285, 1996. The SC Scenic Highways Committee consists of 11 members ranging from the Director of Tourism to the Director of the Department of Parks. The committee plays the most influential role in the development of criteria for the designation of scenic byways across the state. To date, the committee has designated 21 scenic byways in South Carolina, stretching over 450 miles.

Byways Provide Access to Public Lands

South Carolina byways provide access to the state’s most spectacular public lands, including seven national parks, 47 state parks, 76 natural historic landmarks, five state forests, two national heritage sites, and four state beaches.

About the National Scenic Byways Program

The National Scenic Byways Program, established by Congress in 1991, recognizes historic, scenic, and culturally important roads, all of which promote economic development and tourism in communities around the U.S. There are more than 1,200 byways in all 50 states.

All scenic byways exhibit one or more of six core intrinsic qualities — scenic, historic, recreational, cultural, archaeological, or natural. For a road to be named a national scenic byway, it must first be designated a state, tribal, or federal agency scenic byway. Once achieving that, a road may apply for national scenic byway designation, but its intrinsic quality must be of regional significance. All-American Roads are the very best of the national scenic byways, demonstrating at least two intrinsic qualities of national significance.