Hawaii Byways

Hawaii joined the National Scenic Byways Program in 2008 through the Hawaii Department of Transportation (HDOT).  In Hawaii, local government agencies or 501(c)(3) nonprofits are eligible to sponsor a scenic byway.  The program is volunteer-based grassroots program that identifies and supports roads throughout the Hawaiian Islands.  HDOT supports the byway sponsors as well as guides them through the formation process.  There are five state byways in Hawaii, with many additional potential candidates.

Byways Provide Access to Public Lands

Hawaii byways provide access to the state’s most spectacular public lands, including two national parks, 50 state parks, seven national natural landmarks, one national park service national trail, and 33 national historic landmarks.


About the National Scenic Byways Program

The National Scenic Byways Program, established by Congress in 1991, recognizes historic, scenic, and culturally important roads, all of which promote economic development and tourism in communities around the U.S. There are more than 1,200 byways in all 50 states.

All scenic byways exhibit one or more of six core intrinsic qualities — scenic, historic, recreational, cultural, archaeological, or natural. For a road to be named a national scenic byway, it must first be designated a state, tribal, or federal agency scenic byway. Once achieving that, a road may apply for national scenic byway designation, but its intrinsic quality must be of regional significance. All-American Roads are the very best of the national scenic byways, demonstrating at least two intrinsic qualities of national significance.