Orange Beach by Sariann Irvin for Pixabay

Alabama Byways

Alabama boasts 4 national scenic byways and 7 state scenic byways, showcasing the state’s diverse natural beauty and rich history. Initially, byways were implemented and utilized by the governor and state legislature. By 1998 an active citizenry developed a program to help citizens identify and designate additional byways. 

Byways Provide Access to Public Lands

Alabama byways provide access to the state’s most spectacular public lands, including four national forests, 24 state parks, three state forests, one national heritage area, and two national historical sites.


About the National Scenic Byways Program

The National Scenic Byways Program, established by Congress in 1991, recognizes historic, scenic, and culturally important roads, all of which promote economic development and tourism in communities around the U.S. There are more than 1,200 byways in all 50 states.

All scenic byways exhibit one or more of six core intrinsic qualities — scenic, historic, recreational, cultural, archaeological, or natural. For a road to be named a national scenic byway, it must first be designated a state, tribal, or federal agency scenic byway. Once achieving that, a road may apply for national scenic byway designation, but its intrinsic quality must be of regional significance. All-American Roads are the very best of the national scenic byways, demonstrating at least two intrinsic qualities of national significance.